Testing the Waters

I went camping this weekend. With a whole bunch of wonderful people who were also drinking. A lot. Or not really a lot, in point of fact, but it seemed like it to my jealousy-beast. The rest of me knew that they were fine. Anyway, the point is, I did alright. It was fun & (kind of) relaxing (mostly, sort of – I am clearly conflicted on this point – I am definitely worn the fuck out, completely drained – whatever it was, it still took a lot of some kind of effort). I only had moments where the pain cut deep, and the sense of odd-man-out was palpable, at least to me. The tension of constantly being on guard and watching myself may have part of what was so tiring about it. I am incredibly glad that I went, though. Social skills are… yeah, still not good. But fuck that, most of these people knew where I was at, even if it’s clear that they don’t really get it and can’t and I shouldn’t really expect that of them (Jesus, I shouldn’t wish the process that it would take to make them GET IT on anyone, most especially them); they accept me where I am, even if they wonder why I am so much quieter and stand-offish and awkward than I was before. I hope they can see that I love them, still, and it’s not that I’m being aloof & cold. (Fuck, man, stop that shit! Little spinny-mind, stop getting twisted ’round your own little self!) Good test camping, further experimentation warranted, and there was a lot of beautiful to be open to. Moving on.

Test Camping

Also had a long chat this afternoon with C, a guy from AA. We talked about a lot of things, but it all revolved more or less around AA & alcoholism, which in a way was the best thing, since it’s become such a hugely central part of my self-identification that I can’t share with very many people (honestly, would you want to hang around with a guy that was constantly talking about his addiction & all the black oily shit that goes with it? But, especially at this stage of the game, it’s on my mind every fucking minute of every fucking day – yes, it is that central to my mental existence). This is the first time I’d invited anyone to coffee, and it was good to get to talk. I don’t know for sure if I want to ask this guy to be my full time sponsor, but it looks good. I hadn’t expected to chat for 4 hours with him, that’s certain. Still not the kind of conversation that makes me mentally orgasm or anything, but still, it was a good conversation.

1 Comment

Filed under AA, alcoholic, atheist, faith

One response to “Testing the Waters

  1. I’m glad to see you’re growing. The comment about your friends “not getting” your sobriety, where you say, “I shouldn’t wish the process that it would take to make them GET IT on anyone, most especially them” is revealing. It says you “get” Steps One and Four. Other parts of your blog show you comprehend, in our atheist way of thinking, Steps Six and Ten. I’m sure you are beginning to “test camp” the rest of the Steps, too, because you talk about getting a sponsor, and if you only use him for Steps Four and Five then you “get” that part also–why those two steps are necessary. But if you can talk to him for for 4 hours, you won’t drop him after Step Five and you’ll end up having that Twelfth Step Spiritual Experience, no matter which “kind” (as Bill W. points out in Appendix Two).

    Thanks for the interesting reading.

Leave a Reply

